Happy Sunday! I’ve had a lovely day catching up with a friend in her sewing room, admiring her products for an exciting new business. 

Kate, founder of Absurd Design, makes handcrafted leather dog collars and the business has been a year in planning. I was immediately drawn to the amazing autumn swirly collar for my imaginary sausage dog Edwina (we’ll come onto her shortly), to find that Kate also has an imaginary Canadian dog called Duck. 

Duck is actually the inspiration behind the brand as Kate commented how absurd it was! Now let me just be clear, whilst Edwina is a figment of my imagination at the moment, one day she will actually be mine, as Duck will be Kate’s pup. 

If you have read my “about me” pages you will have seen that I got married in blue. Earlier this year, I cut my wedding dress so I could wear it again and had a baby dress made out of the leftover fabric. This dress is currently hanging in my wardrobe as my “symbol of hope” when things get tough. It’s a physical item that I associate with our fertility dream and actually brings me a lot of comfort. 

That being said, I’m looking to purchase Absurd’s Autumn collar for my future Edwina, as discussed with Kate who actually thought it was a good way to focus on a goal. You might think I’m crazy reading this but hey, it works for me! 

I’m very much a sentimental person and I love to keep momentos, buy souvenirs, make scrapbooks, and I use film cameras a lot to “capture the moment.” I’m still very much a pen and paper gal and I’ll admit, I have an obsession with Filofax (I mean have you seen the new rose gold planner?)! 

Do you have anything sentimental which you associate with your future goals and dreams? I would love to hear yours! 

Laura x

Leave a Reply

